Menu Close

How many US presidents served 2 terms?

How many US presidents served 2 terms?

There have been twenty-one U.S. presidents who have served a second term, each of whom has faced difficulties attributed to the curse. The legend behind the second-term curse is that after Franklin D.

What president has won 2 consecutive terms?

The first Democrat elected after the Civil War in 1885, our 22nd and 24th President Grover Cleveland was the only President to leave the White House and return for a second term four years later (1885-1889 and 1893-1897).

How many presidents served 2 terms but not consecutive?

Presidential Administrations, Grover Cleveland: Topics in Chronicling America. Grover Cleveland served 2 non-consecutive terms as the 22nd and 24th U.S. President.

Which presidents have not served 2 terms?


Term in office President Country
1889–1893 Benjamin Harrison United States
1909–1913 William Howard Taft United States
1929–1933 Herbert Hoover United States
1931–1937 Pehr Evind Svinhufvud Finland

How many presidents served 3 terms?

On November 7, 1944, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt is elected to an unprecedented fourth term in office. FDR remains the only president to have served more than two terms.

Have all presidents served 2 terms?

Presidents by time in office

Rank President Number of terms
2 tie James Monroe Two full terms
Andrew Jackson Two full terms
Ulysses S. Grant Two full terms
Grover Cleveland Two full terms (non-consecutive)

How many terms did Clinton serve?

January 20, 1993 – January 20, 2001
Bill Clinton/Presidential terms