Menu Close

What is the district court also known as?

What is the district court also known as?

In New South Wales it is called the Local Court (previously called Courts of Petty Sessions), and is established under the Local Court Act 2007. In other states and territories the lower court is called the Magistrates Court. Local Court hearings are presided over by judicial officers called magistrates.

What other name does the County court have?

Multiple courts of typically limited original jurisdiction within a county are usually called “district courts” or, if located in and serving a particular municipality, “municipal courts”; and are subordinate to the county superior or circuit court.

What is an example of legal jargon?

Bar – general term referring to a group of attorneys – example: “The Bar of the 26th Judicial District is active in community issues.” Bench – term used to refer to judges or the court – example: “Please approach the bench” refers to approaching the judge. Biological Father – the natural father of a child.

Which term refers to the authority of a court to hear a case?

jurisdiction – (1) The legal authority of a court to hear and decide a case.

What does the term PIL refer to?

Public interest Litigation (PIL) means litigation filed in a court of law, for the protection of “Public Interest”, such as Pollution, Terrorism, Road safety, Constructional hazards etc.

Which type of cases are heard in district court?

The district courts are the trial courts of general jurisdiction in the state. A district court exists in all 23 counties, and the counties are organized into nine judicial districts. The district judges preside over felony criminal cases, large civil cases, as well as juvenile and probate matters.

What are district judges?

District judges are full-time judges who deal with the majority of cases in the county courts. They are assigned on appointment to a particular circuit and may sit at any of the county courts or district registries on that circuit.

How many district courts are there in Texas?

Trial: There are four federal district courts in Texas. They consist of the United States District Courts for the Northern District of Texas, the Eastern District of Texas, the Southern District of Texas, and the Western District of Texas.

What is the legal terminology?

Specialized terminology refers to words that are specific to the legal profession. Some specialized terms originated within the legal system for the purpose of conveying meanings specific to law.

What does term mean in court?

A specified period of time. The term of a court is the legally prescribed period for which it may be in session. Although the session of the court is the time that it actually sits, the words term and session are frequently used interchangeably.

Which term refers to the authority of both state and federal courts to hear and decide cases?

concurrent jurisdiction. This authority allows both state and federal courts to hear cases involving crimes that violate both state and federal law and disputes between citizens of different states concerning at least $50,000.

What is meant by the term jurisdiction quizlet?

Jurisdiction. refers to the authority of a court to hear a case.