Menu Close

Who joined the NHL in 1992?

Who joined the NHL in 1992?

League business This season saw two new clubs join the league: the Ottawa Senators and the Tampa Bay Lightning.

What were the NHL teams in 1992?

Prince of Wales Conference

Boston Bruins* 84 109
Quebec Nordiques* 84 104
Montreal Canadiens* 84 102
Buffalo Sabres* 84 86

What team joined the NHL in 1991?

San Jose Sharks
The Vancouver Canucks were the first to join in 1970-71. The Atlanta Flames moved to Calgary in 1980-81….

1st Season Franchise Expansion Fee
Quebec Nordiques $7.5 million
1991-92 San Jose Sharks $45 million
1992-93 Ottawa Senators $45 million
Tampa Bay Lightning $45 million

What two Canadian cities were part of the Original Six hockey teams?

The first NHL teams were the Montreal Canadiens, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators and Toronto Arenas. The oldest hockey teams in what we now call the Original Six are the Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Arenas, who became the Maple Leafs in 1927.

Who were the first NHL expansion teams?

The 1967 NHL Expansion Draft The six expansion teams approved by the NHL Board of Governors were the California Seals (San Francisco/Oakland), Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota North Stars, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and St. Louis Blues. Politics, of course, had a hand in the final selection.

What teams joined the NHL in 1993?

NHL awards expansion franchise to Tampa The Lightning are the first NHL franchise in Florida. 1993: The League adds its 25th and 26th teams, the Florida Panthers (based in Miami) and Mighty Ducks of Anaheim.

How many teams were in the NHL in 1993?

26 teams
The 1993–94 NHL season was the 77th regular season of the National Hockey League. The league expanded to 26 teams with the addition of the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim and the Florida Panthers.

What teams were in the first NHL expansion?

What is the next NHL expansion team?

The Seattle franchise will begin play in the Pacific Division of the Western Conference in 2021-22. The Arizona Coyotes will move to the Western Conference’s Central Division that season. There will be no other changes to the NHL’s alignment.

Who were the original 4 NHL teams?

So, who were the original 4 teams? When the NHL had its inaugural season in 1917 there were four teams: Montreal Wanderers, Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Arenas, and the Ottawa Senators. The NHL did have a fifth franchise, the Quebec Bulldogs, however it was an inactive franchise and did not play any games.

Who were the original 7 NHL teams?

The six teams are the Boston Bruins, Chicago Black Hawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and Toronto Maple Leafs….Teams.

Team name Location Founded
Boston Bruins Boston, Massachusetts 1924
Chicago Black Hawks Chicago, Illinois 1926
Detroit Red Wings Detroit, Michigan

What was the first NHL expansion?

The first NHL expansion occurred a full 50 years after the league was created, but the 1967 NHL expansion definitely lived up to the motto, “Go big or go home.” After the expansion, the NHL had doubled in size — from six to 12 teams — and established a solid presence across the U.S.