Menu Close

Who succeeded Gordon Brown?

Who succeeded Gordon Brown?

Soon after Brown was succeeded as Prime Minister by David Cameron, while Harriet Harman became acting leader of the Labour Party.

Who was prime minister after Thatcher?

John Major

The Right Honourable Sir John Major KG CH
Deputy Michael Heseltine (1995–1997)
Preceded by Margaret Thatcher
Succeeded by Tony Blair
Leader of the Opposition

When did Margaret Thatcher leave office?

The premiership of Margaret Thatcher began on 4 May 1979, when Thatcher accepted an invitation to form a new administration, and ended on 28 November 1990. She was elected to the position in 1979, having led the Conservative Party since 1975, and won landslide re-elections in 1983 and 1987.

Who was the UK’s youngest prime minister?

The youngest prime minister to be appointed was William Pitt the Younger on 19 December 1783 at the age of 24 years, 6 months and 21 days.

Who served the longest as Chancellor of the Exchequer?

Perhaps as a result, Tony Blair chose to keep him in the same position throughout his ten years as prime minister; making Brown an unusually dominant figure and the longest-serving chancellor since the Reform Act of 1832.

Who was chancellor before Rishi?

Sunak was promoted to Chancellor of the Exchequer on 13 February 2020 as part of a cabinet reshuffle, after the resignation of his predecessor, Javid, on the same day. Javid had resigned as Chancellor of the Exchequer following a meeting with Prime Minister Johnson.

Who succeeded Macmillan as Prime Minister?

Alec Douglas-Home

The Right Honourable The Lord Home of the Hirsel KT PC
Monarch Elizabeth II
Preceded by Harold Macmillan
Succeeded by Harold Wilson
Leader of the Opposition