Menu Close

What are 4 major islands of the Lesser Antilles?

What are 4 major islands of the Lesser Antilles?

Windward Islands

  • Dominica (Commonwealth)
  • Martinique (Fr.)
  • Saint Lucia (St. Lucia)
  • Barbados (Barbados is a Continental island found 100 miles (160 km) east of the Windward chain)
  • Saint Vincent (St. Vincent and the Grenadines)
  • Grenadines (St.
  • Carriacou and Petite Martinique (Grenada)
  • Grenada (Grenada)

What is the largest island in the Greater Antilles?

island of Cuba
The island of Cuba is the largest island in the Greater Antilles, in Latin America, and in the Caribbean. It is followed by Hispaniola.

What islands make up the West Indies?

Three major physiographic divisions constitute the West Indies: the Greater Antilles, comprising the islands of Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic), and Puerto Rico; the Lesser Antilles, including the Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat, Guadeloupe.

What are the four largest Caribbean island countries in land area?

Largest countries and territories in the Caribbean, by total area (in square kilometers)

Characteristic Area in square kilometers
Haiti 27,750
Bahamas 13,880
Jamaica 10,991
Puerto Rico 9,104

What are the five Greater Antilles?

The Greater Antilles consists of Cuba, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Cayman Islands, and Hispaniola. Hispaniola is divided into Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

Where are the Greater and Lesser Antilles?

Greater and Lesser Antilles summary Greater and Lesser Antilles, Two groups of islands in the West Indies, bounding the Caribbean Sea on the north and east, respectively. The Greater Antilles include the largest islands (Cuba, Jamaica, Hispaniola, and Puerto Rico), the Lesser Antilles all being much smaller.

Which 4 island nations make up the Greater Antilles?

Greater Antilles, the four largest islands of the Antilles (q.v.)—Cuba, Hispaniola, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico—lying north of the Lesser Antilles chain. They constitute nearly 90 percent of the total land area of the entire West Indies.

What are the 5 largest islands in the Caribbean?

Most Populated Caribbean Islands

  • Cuba. As the largest island in the Caribbean by size, it makes sense that Cuba would also be the most populated Caribbean island.
  • Haiti.
  • Dominican Republic.
  • Jamaica.
  • Puerto Rico.
  • Trinidad and Tobago.
  • Guadeloupe.
  • 7 Interesting Facts About the Dominican Republic.

Where are the Antilles?

Caribbean Sea
The Antilles is an archipelago, or chain of islands, stretching more than 1,500 miles between in North and South America, bordered by the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean to the north and the Caribbean Sea to the south. The Antilles are divided into two sections, the Greater Antilles and the Lesser Antilles.

How many islands are there in West Indies?

7,000 islands
The West Indies are a geologically complex island system consisting of 7,000 islands and islets stretching over 3,000 km from the Florida peninsula of North America south-southeast to the northern coast of Venezuela.

Which four island nations make up the Greater Antilles?

Where are the Greater Antilles islands?