Menu Close

What are the 3 main structures of the respiratory system?

What are the 3 main structures of the respiratory system?

There are 3 major parts of the respiratory system: the airway, the lungs, and the muscles of respiration. The airway, which includes the nose, mouth, pharynx, larynx, trachea, bronchi, and bronchioles, carries air between the lungs and the body’s exterior.

What is the 3 respiratory system?

Pharynx (throat): Tube that delivers air from your mouth and nose to the trachea (windpipe). Trachea: Passage connecting your throat and lungs. Bronchial tubes: Tubes at the bottom of your windpipe that connect into each lung. Lungs: Two organs that remove oxygen from the air and pass it into your blood.

What are the 3 components of the respiratory membrane?

Taken together, the respiratory membrane is comprised of 1) an alveolar wall made primarily from a single layer of type I alveolar cells, 2) a capillary wall made from a single layer of endothelial cells, and between them, 3) a shared basement membrane.

How many types of cells are in the lungs?

As mentioned, the lung is composed of over 40 types of cells including cells of the epithelium, interstitial connective tissue, blood vessels, hematopoietic and lymphoid tissue, and the pleura (9, 10).

What are the three major parts of the respiratory system quizlet?

Composed of the nose, the pharynx, and the larynx, the organs are outside the chest cavity.

What are the types of respiratory system?

There are three major types of respiratory structures in the vertebrates: gills, integumentary exchange areas, and lungs.

What are the two types of alveolar cells?

The pulmonary alveolar epithelium is mainly composed of two types of epithelial cells: alveolar type I (AT1) and type II (AT2) cells. AT2 cells are smaller, cuboidal cells that are best known for their functions in synthesizing and secreting pulmonary surfactant.

What cells are in the respiratory membrane?

The respiratory epithelium in trachea and bronchi is pseudostratified and primarily consists of three main cell types – cilia cells, goblet cells, and basal cells. The ciliated cells are located across the apical surface and facilitate the movement of mucus across the airway tract.

What are the 3 types of alveolar cells?

Each alveolus consists of three types of cell populations:

  • Type 1 pneumocytes.
  • Type 2 pneumocytes.
  • Alveolar macrophages.

Where are type 2 alveolar cells?

Alveolar type II cells are usually cuboidal in shape and occupy only a small portion of the alveolar surface area, ∼7%. However, there are about twice as many AT2 cells as AT1 cells in the lung.

What is alveolar sac?

(al-VEE-oh-ly) Tiny air sacs at the end of the bronchioles (tiny branches of air tubes in the lungs). The alveoli are where the lungs and the blood exchange oxygen and carbon dioxide during the process of breathing in and breathing out.