Menu Close

What are the 8 Beatitudes and examples?

What are the 8 Beatitudes and examples?


  • “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.”
  • “Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”
  • “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.”
  • “Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.”

Why are the 8 Beatitudes important?

When we follow all the beatitudes, we are living in the way that Jesus and God want us to live and we will get to know them in heaven. The beatitudes have a major importance in Christian/Catholic lives, they are the words from Jesus that shed a light on our lives on how to know and meet God.

Are there 8 or 10 Beatitudes?

Biblical basis. While opinions may vary as to exactly how many distinct statements into which the Beatitudes should be divided (ranging from eight to ten), most scholars consider them to be only eight.

What is the example of the 4th beatitude?

This beatitude relates to my life by how if I want to live a worthy life, I must hunger and thirst for those gifts that only God can grant upon us. Without these gifts, I would end up putting all focus into earthly things that have little meaning if you reach Heaven.

What are examples of Beatitudes?

Terms in this set (9)

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit.
  • Blessed are they who mourn.
  • Blessed are the meek.
  • Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness.
  • Blessed the merciful.
  • Blessed are the clean of heart.
  • Blessed are the peacemakers.
  • Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness.

What Beatitudes Did Mother Teresa have?

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God The pure of heart will be without evil and be eternally loyal to God, these are people who act as they should without guile. The pure of heart will be innocent and unconditionally loved by God.

What is the first beatitude?

The first beatitude teaches that real happiness lies in recognizing and embracing our poverty, our need of God. When our eyes are opened, we see the futility of clinging to the lie of self-sufficiency and are freed to accept the help which comes only from God.

What are the gifts of the Holyspirit?

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit are wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord.

What does the 2nd Beatitude mean?

This second beatitude references mourning, which is most commonly associated with things such as death, tragedy, and loss. This revelation will lead us to grieve and mourn our own sin, which will gently guide us into God’s accepting and comforting arms –despite our sin, He chooses to love us.

What are the Beatitudes in Matthew 5?

The Beatitudes unique to Matthew are the meek, the merciful, the pure of heart, and the peacemakers, while the other four have similar entries in Luke, but are followed almost immediately by “four woes”. The term “poor in spirit” is unique to Matthew.

What are 2 Beatitudes?

What are the modern Beatitudes?

Blessed are those who know how to relax without looking for excuses; they are on the way to becoming wise. Blessed are those who know when to be quiet and listen; they will learn a lot of new things. Blessed are those who are sane enough not to take themselves too seriously; they will be valued by those around them.