Menu Close

What are the diseases caused by protozoa in animals?

What are the diseases caused by protozoa in animals?

Very important protozoan diseases are trypanosomosis of cattle and horses, dogs and cats, anaplasmosis and theileriosis of cattle and buffaloes, trichomonosis of cattle, and coccidiosis of cattle, goat, sheep and chicken. Toxoplasmosis which is an important zoonosis is also included.

What are protozoa infections?

Protozoal infections are characterized by hyperproliferation of the infectious agent independent of the parasites living intracellularly or extracellularly of their respective host cells. From: Significant Pharmaceuticals Reported in US Patents, 2007.

Which one of the following is protozoan disease?

So, the correct answer is, ‘ Malaria. ‘

What are three diseases caused by protozoa?

(2012b), Torgerson and Mastroiacovo (2013), World Health Organization (2013).

  • 1.1. Malaria. Malaria is the most significant of the protozoan parasites that infect man.
  • 1.2. African trypanosomiasis.
  • 1.3. Chagas disease.
  • 1.4. Leishmaniasis.
  • 1.5. Toxoplasmosis.
  • 1.6. Cryptosporidiosis.

What are the 4 main types of protozoa?

Four types of protozoa are amoeboid, flagellated, ciliated and sporozoans.

What are 3 examples of protozoa?

Some examples of protozoa are Amoeba, Paramecium, Euglena and Trypanosoma.

What are the 3 types of protozoan?


  • Amebas (representative: Ameba proteus)
  • Flagellates (representative: Trypanosoma, Euglena)
  • Ciliates (representative: Paramecium)
  • Apicomplexa (representative: Plasmodium)

What are 10 diseases caused by protozoa?

What are 5 examples of protozoa?

The following is a list of some of the common protozoan and algal microbes we share the world with.

  • Paramecia. Paramecium caudatum (highly magnified). John J.
  • Amoeba. amoeba. Amoeba (Amoeba proteus).
  • Euglena. Euglena. Euglena gracilis (highly magnified) in fresh water.
  • Diatoms. diatoms.
  • Volvox. Volvox.

What are the 4 major groups of protozoa?

Historically protozoa were divided into four major groups: the ameba, the flagellates, the ciliates, and the sporozoa. The distinguishing features between the groups was based on motility (i.e., ameboid, flagella, cilia).