Menu Close

Which is the first capital of Karnataka?

Which is the first capital of Karnataka?

Banavasi – The First Capital of Karnataka.

Which state is Karnataka in?


Which is the second capital of Karnataka?

The Government of Karnataka has proposed making Belgaum the second capital of Karnataka, hence a second state administrative building Suvarna Vidhana Soudha was inaugurated on 11 October 2012….Belgaum.

Belgaum Belgaon
Area rank 4
Elevation 784 m (2,572 ft)
Population (2011)
• City corporation 488,292

Why was Mysore state renamed as Karnataka?

The state was considerably enlarged in 1956 when it became a linguistically homogeneous Kannada-speaking state within the Union of India. It was subsequently renamed as the state of Karnataka….Mysore State.

Preceded by Succeeded by
Kingdom of Mysore Karnataka

Which is the 2nd largest city in Karnataka?

List of cities

Rank (2011) City Population 2011
1 Bengaluru 8,495,492
2 Hubballi-Dharwad 943,788
3 Mysuru 920,550
4 Kalaburagi 543,147

Which is the capital of Kerala?


What is Karnataka first name?

State of Mysore
It was formed on 1 November 1956, with the passage of the States Reorganisation Act. Originally known as the State of Mysore /maɪˈsɔːr/, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973.

Which is biggest city in Karnataka?

Which city is capital of two states?

CHANDIGARH, India — Since Chandigarh is the shared capital city of both Punjab and Haryana, two farming states in northern India, many of the state government offices are located there.

Who gave name Karnataka?

Answer : The dynasty which gave the name Karnataka is The Chalukyas. The Chalukyas were the ones who gave the name ‘Karnataka’ to this land. They developed the Kannada land, language, and culture, and protected its religion, literature, art and architecture.

What is the new name of Bangalore?

The government of Karnataka accepted the proposal, and it was decided to officially implement the name change from 1 November 2006. The Union government approved this request, along with name changes for 11 other Karnataka cities, in October 2014, hence Bangalore was renamed to “Bengaluru” on 1 November 2014.

What is the nickname of Karnataka?


City/town Nickname
Bengaluru (Bengaluru) Silicon Valley of India Science City of India Garden City of India Capital of Karnataka
Kodagu Scotland of India
Mangaluru Rome of The East Ice Cream Capital of India Gateway of Karnataka
Mysuru Sandalwood City Cultural Capital of Karnataka