Menu Close

Who was the Governor of MS from 1904 to 1908?

Who was the Governor of MS from 1904 to 1908?

James Kimble Vardaman (July 26, 1861 – June 25, 1930) was an American politician from the U.S. state of Mississippi and was the Governor of Mississippi from 1904 to 1908.

Who was the first Governor of the state of Mississippi?

In 1816, Congress decided to divide the territory into two states. The western half would become the state of Mississippi. The constitutional convention was held in Washington, Mississippi, in 1817. David Holmes served as president of the convention and was elected the first governor of the new state.

Who was the governor of Mississippi in 1903?

1903 Mississippi gubernatorial election

Nominee James K. Vardaman
Party Democratic
Popular vote 32,191
Percentage 100.00%

Who was governor of Mississippi before Tate Reeves?

Tate Reeves
Lieutenant Delbert Hosemann
Preceded by Phil Bryant
32nd Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi
In office January 10, 2012 – January 14, 2020

Who is Tate Reeves wife?

Elee Reeves
Tate Reeves/Wife

Who was the first governor of the state of Mississippi?

The most recently serving governor of Mississippi to die was Kirk Fordice (served 1992–2000) on September 7, 2004. ^ David Holmes was inaugurated as the first state governor on October 7, 1817, but Mississippi did not officially become a state until December 10, 1817.

What are the duties of the Governor of Mississippi?

The Governor has a duty to enforce state laws, and the power to either approve or veto bills passed by the Mississippi Legislature, to convene the legislature at any time, and, except in cases of treason or impeachment, to grant pardons and reprieves.

Who is the head of government in Mississippi?

The governor of Mississippi is the head of the executive branch of Mississippi’s state government and the commander-in-chief of the state ‘s military forces.

How old do you have to be to be the Governor of Mississippi?

To be elected governor, a person must be at least 30 years old, and must have been a citizen of the United States for twenty years and a resident of Mississippi for at least five years at the time of inauguration. The Constitution of Mississippi, ratified in 1890, calls for a four-year term for the governor.